This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now


8.0 Review Score
Score Breakdown
Property Location
    Harold Bratovich
    March 21, 2018
    Too many steps and no elevator.
    Well located and the price.
    March 19, 2018
    It wasn't that clean and poor WiFi connection
    The hospitality
    March 19, 2018
    Rooms don't all have real windows so you hear everything going on in the hotel and plaza. Some window were covered with plastic - doesn't help with noise. If you book, make sure you request a room on the upper levels. The main floor and second floor look like a hostel. We wanted a cappuccino in the morning but apparently the machine was not warmed up and the waitress didn't know how to use it. She asked us to come back in the later afternoon??!!
    Great location. Thank goodness for Juan Carlos at reception. He saved face for the rest of the "expression-less" staff there.
    March 18, 2018
    Cute little place tucked away from the main square in Aguas Caliente
    The checkout at 10-11 is a bit early.
    Bruno, Henry, and Giancarlo were super nice and helpful. We had rm 48 which is about 6-7 floors up. If you can make the climb, it is worth it. Nice balcony and large room. Henry helped up cart our bags to the train station making our long day of travel a bit easier! Breakfast was lovely, and the dining room was spacious and comfortable. Great Guacamole!
    March 7, 2018
    convenient location but WiFi sucks!
    can't use WiFi in the room!!! absolutely hate going to the lobby to use wifi
    March 3, 2018
    Despite the terrible name - this hotel is extremely comfortable and good value!
    Lots of stairs - but staff carried our bags up for us. Very kind and helpful.
    Rooms were very upmarket for the price. Great location, and very helpful staff. Gave us good advice about bus to Machu Picchu. Left our bags there while we went up the mountain and they let us relax on the terrace afterwards while we waited for our train. Oh - and excellent breakfast included.
    February 26, 2018
    Great place and location Central to all town places and within walking distance.
    Very old room with maintenance needed. Roof was leaking. Bathroom basin was leaking.
    Great breakfast.
    February 24, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    February 9, 2018
    Loved it!
    Stayed for two nights and my friend and I both really enjoyed the accommodations. Such a cool hotel! It’s right off the main plaza so the location is perfect. Please understand that this is a remote location in the jungle. Jungles are the wettest places and no matter what jungle you go to, a musty smell is pervasive everywhere, so just keep that in mind if you’re coming from the western world and you’ve never experienced jungle climates. It’s also impossible to keep things immaculate in such climates. All that is just to warn you not of Gringo Bill’s, but of anywhere in any jungle that you might go. Gringo Bill’s is clean and in great condition (just not “perfect”) and I couldn’t have been happier there! If you want to use the jacuzzi just ask them and I’m sure they’d fill it. The bed was firm and soooo comfortable (best hotel bed I’ve ever slept on). I was there in Low tourist season (Feb) so a lot of the rooms were vacant and I was able to poke my head into most of them... some have baths (but not all), ours just had a shower. There’s always hot water (super hot) and the room was amazing, I loved it. The breakfast is a lovely buffet from 5am to 9am with fresh fruit, granola, juices, coffees, teas, super tasty yogurt, pancakes, all kinds of breads, eggs cooked to order, sliced meats, cheeses etc... they will fill your water bottle with drinking water which is super great in trying to avoid single use plastic. The wifi was VERY good in our room (47). Beware, it’s all stairs in this place... if you have an aversion, ask for a room in the lower levels.
    January 30, 2018
    the room was spacious and cozy. I felt good
    the room was cozy and spacious.
    January 29, 2018
    Peaceful B&B near the main plaza.
    Can't think of anything I didn't like off the top of my head.
    So close to the main plaza. Really nice rooms and great value. Each room has a nice big bathroom/ shower, as well as a tv... what a luxury. There is also a mini pool in the center of the hotel. The continental breakfast is great and just what you need before you set out to Machu Picchu (eggs to order, fruits, yogurt and more). Perfect peaceful spot in Agua Calientes. Highly recommend.
    Luden Bunch
    January 27, 2018
    Close to plaza
    January 24, 2018
    A great place with very friendly staff in the best location possible.
    The room had a lot of street lights coming in through the window and through the sky light, so it was light all night. We had a tough time sleeping.
    The location was ideal and the staff extremely friendly. Food was good, eggs made to order.
    January 23, 2018
    Could have been a lot better.
    Upon checking in we were asked to pay right away. I noticed the amount was higher than I expected. The clerk informed me they add an additional 10%. I requested an explanation and was told it is a service tax or tip. I chose not to pay at that moment. We have been travelling in Peru for over a month and no other hotel has imposed an extra fee for service. An email to management went unanswered. Upon checking out I again questioned the additional amount. A different clerk relented and removed the “service tip” from our bill. My impression, and according to other reviews of this hotel, this fee is optional. From a customer point of view this incident felt dishonest. I also should point out that we stayed at Gringo Bill’s on a previous trip and did not pay an extra fee. Local restaurants also add an optional service fee (aka tip) that ranges from 10 to 20% which they try to pass off as a tax. Customer beware! If in doubt check with the local iPeru tourist office like we did.
    The room was nice, spacious and had a balcony. The bathtub was filthy. The staff came to clean it right away (twice) but it was still dirty with soap scum that I could easily rub off with my fingers. I showed them again so they changed us to a different room with a clean bathroom. Breakfast was great and consisted of a choice of cereal, fresh juices, real coffee, hot chocolate, bread, jams, fresh fruit, eggs to order and a toaster.
    January 22, 2018
    Well managed hotel at the top of the hill with great views to the town’s square and opposite rock
    Breathtaking views from the top floors to the opposite mountain.
    January 7, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    January 4, 2018
    Airy Mountain perch near the main plaza
    A bit noisy in the halls, bring ear plugs
    The breakfast includes scrambled eggs or omelets made to order. There is a wide variety of fruit juices, good coffee and a big selection of breads, etc. The hotel is kind of like a tree house. Our room had a balcony facing the mountains with upholstered chairs and bistro table as well. Beds were big with down comforters. We stayed 2 nights and the staff helped us on where to buy all tickets for Machupicchu.
    January 3, 2018
    Asome stay; on a budget
    This property doesn’t have a lot of availability on Mountain View’s if that something that your interested it in. And if your traveling with kids there was no elevator so walking down many steps was very difficult with 2 small kids. Besides that it’s An amazing stay.
    The property was located very close to the train station and the drop of from the train station. If already know when you are arriving you let the property know and a hotel staff member picks you up directly. They offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner which is very delicious but, if you want local food the property is located around many restaurants which is amazing. They help you in whatever you need and are very helpful with tips on purchasing tickets to Machu Picchu and he bus tickets to take you there. They offer hot water which is a must trust me. The bedroom was very clean and the bedding was perfect to keep you warm on cold nights.
    January 2, 2018
    Great staff!!
    We checked in on the first night, our room was so close to the street that you could hear people talking at the plaza, kids crying and people working on the roof of other houses. Luckily, the staff was very nice and moved us higher to their suite rooms and we slept a lot better our last 2 nights there!
    Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
    December 31, 2017
    Wifi signal is not strong enough for MMS, everything else very good
Loading reviews...